Monday 12th September, 2016
by

More North Korean refugees may be entering South Korea this year, after a steady decline since 2009. A trend that saw a decrease in the number of North Korean refugees entering South Korea since Ki ...

Proudly in partnership with

Friday 9th September, 2016
by

In the era of informal market activity or the jangmadang generation of North Korea, it is almost essential for a woman to work. That means sending their children to North Korean private daycare....

Wednesday 7th September, 2016
by

“Your face is as big as my fist!” In beauty-obsessed South Korea, this is a compliment; in North Korea, an insult....

Tuesday 6th September, 2016
by

“Because North Korea is a very patriarchal society, I heard that the wives are very devoted to their husbands. Is that true?” South Korean men are taking an interest in North Korean women as poten...

Friday 26th August, 2016
by

Details on the recent defection of a North Korean official in Vladivostok reveal that Mr. Kim was a manager in Kim Jong Un's slush fund department, known as Room 39....

Monday 22nd August, 2016
by

New Focus correspondents report that two North Korean border security officers attempted an escape on the 17th of August, 2016....

Friday 19th August, 2016
by

What are North Korean atheletes taught to say following their gold-medal wins?...

Thursday 18th August, 2016
by

The story behind the lesser-known selfie between the North and South Korean women's archery team....

Monday 1st August, 2016
by

TNKR has helped scores of refugees as they adjust to their new lives in South Korea....

Tuesday 28th June, 2016
by

The North Korean government has recently allowed the possession and sale of real estate for citizens, to a limited extent....