Economy

Feature stories on the economy.

Wednesday 30th November, 2016
by

Despite UN sanctions, China has been reportedly exporting fuel by train from a Dandong military fuel supply centre to North Korea, according to a report by Radio Free Asia. ...

Proudly in partnership with

Monday 13th April, 2015
by

The trade of smuggled goods in North Korea now includes batches of leeches....

Saturday 4th April, 2015
by

New Focus correspondents were informed via telephone that specific numbers of North Korean overseas labourers in their 20s and 30s have been sent to different provinces in China....

Sunday 8th February, 2015
by

How the fuel economy works for ordinary North Koreans....

Tuesday 18th November, 2014
by

The facade of a communist economy fading away on the waters of Chongjin....

Tuesday 4th November, 2014
by

One perk of being a soldier in North Korea is receiving letters from young students....

Thursday 25th September, 2014
by

A market for wild berries in China has opened up business opportunities for North Korean merchants, but......

Wednesday 10th September, 2014
by

Freshness of meat doesn't matter much to North Korea's shoppers....

Friday 5th September, 2014
by

A professional resume is not what's important to land a job promotion in North Korea; rather, it’s what you can personally offer your superiors....

Thursday 28th August, 2014
by

North Korea has a thriving counterfeit fashion industry....

Thursday 14th August, 2014
by

It’s not fervent loyalty that is responsible for this phenomenon?...