Insights

Wednesday 8th March, 2017
by

North Korea is one of the few countries in the world where International Women’s Day is a national holiday – well, sort of....

Proudly in partnership with

Sunday 16th August, 2015
by

An explanation of various mass mobilization campaigns enforced by the government, which dominate the lives of North Koreans....

Wednesday 12th August, 2015
by

The ration is one bar of laundry soap per squad....

Tuesday 11th August, 2015
by

In North Korea, private ownership of gold only comes under very special circumstances....

Monday 10th August, 2015
by

“Fishermen are being increasingly targeted for surveillance, with restrictions, ideological lessons and monitoring much more severe than before.”....

Thursday 6th August, 2015
by

Just say the word: "Simply uttering the words ‘Kim’ works miracles in factories."...

Wednesday 5th August, 2015
by

Are tattoos permitted in North Korea? Yes, but with conditions....

Tuesday 28th July, 2015
by

How are North Koreans billed for their electricity?...

Wednesday 22nd July, 2015
by

Young North Korean refugees reveal that North Koreans are yet to use emoji and shorthand when texting, and that an increasing number of youth are purchasing handsets....

Tuesday 21st July, 2015
by

Smugglers have begun operating at large at new points along the China-North Korea border....

Thursday 16th July, 2015
by

How does bribing your way out of the criminal law system work in North Korea?...