Insights

Wednesday 8th March, 2017
by

North Korea is one of the few countries in the world where International Women’s Day is a national holiday – well, sort of....

Proudly in partnership with

Thursday 9th July, 2015
by

Ex-soldiers and train control staff top the list....

Monday 6th July, 2015
by

If you're thinking about doing business in North Korea, you may want to reconsider this item....

Friday 3rd July, 2015
by

It's getting harder for North Koreans to escape through the border into China, as smugglers, brokers and North Korean authorities join hands....

Thursday 2nd July, 2015
by

According to Kim Jeong-Hyun, “There is a detention facility (kyohwaso) a little way away from the centre of Sariwon that only holds cadres.”...

Tuesday 30th June, 2015
by

Disease outbreak in North Korea is seen as opportunity, not crisis....

Monday 29th June, 2015
by

There are two types of cell phone in North Korea: registered and unregistered....

Friday 26th June, 2015
by

The 25th of June marks the 65th anniversary of the commencement of the Korean War. But escapees say that they had learnt of a completely different version of history....

Monday 22nd June, 2015
by

A girl’s first menstrual period is the start of suffering and humiliation in North Korea....

Monday 22nd June, 2015
by

New Focus reveals details from a phone interview with a North Korean citizen, currently living in Musan, about politics, society and the families of escapees....

Tuesday 16th June, 2015
by

Ri Sol-Ju may be considered a fashion icon, but who are the real trendsetters?...