Insights

Monday 1st May, 2017
by

Who is Lee Jungrok, and how did he get promoted to Minister of State Security? ...

Proudly in partnership with

Monday 22nd June, 2015
by

New Focus reveals details from a phone interview with a North Korean citizen, currently living in Musan, about politics, society and the families of escapees....

Tuesday 16th June, 2015
by

Ri Sol-Ju may be considered a fashion icon, but who are the real trendsetters?...

Sunday 14th June, 2015
by

When it comes to cigarette brands, North Korean officials have expensive taste. And it appears that their standards are only getting higher....

Friday 12th June, 2015
by

Soldiers in the North Korean military are most likely pointing guns at one another or themselves, and not at the enemy, according to a former captain of the KPA....

Thursday 11th June, 2015
by

"We take turns standing guard. We also have extra CDs prepared, just in case authorities and nighttime surveillance patrols demand to carry out a sudden search of the place. The CDs will be a mixtape ...

Wednesday 10th June, 2015
by

Pyongyang, once considered by North Koreans as 'the most perfect place in the world' is no longer what it used to be....

Monday 8th June, 2015
by

Kotjebi and hunger....

Friday 5th June, 2015
by

As consequences for stealing in North Korea become harsher, homeless children become increasingly clever....

Friday 5th June, 2015
by

In North Korea, the effects of tuberculosis  on women are likened to that of a withering flower....

Thursday 4th June, 2015
by

An insight into the bleak lifestyle of prisoners in North Korean camps....