Politics

Articles focused on the workings of North Korea’s political system.

Friday 17th February, 2017
by

North Korean ex-ambassador Thae Yongho attended an international conference hosted by the Institute for National Security Strategy (INSS) where he participated in a discussion about security in Northe...

Proudly in partnership with

Wednesday 12th November, 2014
by

The North Korean political system makes it all but impossible for Choe to suddenly be the "second most powerful man"....

Sunday 26th October, 2014
by

"Who is your boss? It is not, then, Kim Jong-un?"...

Monday 20th October, 2014
by

Perhaps the North Korean state is in a bit of a fluster....

Tuesday 14th October, 2014
by

Why did Kim Jong-un not take advantage of October 10, a grand opportunity for redress?...

Tuesday 7th October, 2014
by

Is this really a most confident move from a high powered North Korean delegation?...

Saturday 4th October, 2014
by

In aftermath of Jang Song-thaek's execution and collapse of the living Kim's authority among power elite, anomalies and more anomalies to follow....

Friday 26th September, 2014
by

Hwang Pyong-so's promotion should be seen not as an indicator of his rising power, but of continuing need for visibility re-configurations in aftermath of Jang Song-thaek's execution....

Monday 1st September, 2014
by

Internal breakdown of North Korea’s power structures will intensify, as infighting over economic privileges occurs and powerful cadres instigate purges against one another....

Tuesday 12th August, 2014
by

Attempts to reinforce the political clout of Kim Jong-il's closest comrades, who make up the current powerful core of the NKorean leadership....

Wednesday 6th August, 2014
by

"On the surface, it may look like we are all longing for Kim's visit, but really, we are waiting for the fish that he brings."...