Politics

Articles focused on the workings of North Korea’s political system.

Thursday 2nd March, 2017
by

In Part 1 of this analysis, it was established that neither the National Defence Commission nor the Renaissance General Bureau could have killed Kim Jong Nam. Could it have been the Operations Depart...

Proudly in partnership with

Wednesday 7th January, 2015
by

How do you distinguish between what North Korea says and what it intends and means and desires?...

Tuesday 9th December, 2014
by

Those among the North Korean elite behaving in ways more "factional" than Jang Song Thaek....

Wednesday 12th November, 2014
by

The North Korean political system makes it all but impossible for Choe to suddenly be the "second most powerful man"....

Sunday 26th October, 2014
by

"Who is your boss? It is not, then, Kim Jong-un?"...

Monday 20th October, 2014
by

Perhaps the North Korean state is in a bit of a fluster....

Tuesday 14th October, 2014
by

Why did Kim Jong-un not take advantage of October 10, a grand opportunity for redress?...

Tuesday 7th October, 2014
by

Is this really a most confident move from a high powered North Korean delegation?...

Saturday 4th October, 2014
by

In aftermath of Jang Song-thaek's execution and collapse of the living Kim's authority among power elite, anomalies and more anomalies to follow....

Friday 26th September, 2014
by

Hwang Pyong-so's promotion should be seen not as an indicator of his rising power, but of continuing need for visibility re-configurations in aftermath of Jang Song-thaek's execution....

Monday 1st September, 2014
by

Internal breakdown of North Korea’s power structures will intensify, as infighting over economic privileges occurs and powerful cadres instigate purges against one another....