Politics

Articles focused on the workings of North Korea’s political system.

Thursday 2nd March, 2017
by

In Part 1 of this analysis, it was established that neither the National Defence Commission nor the Renaissance General Bureau could have killed Kim Jong Nam. Could it have been the Operations Depart...

Proudly in partnership with

Tuesday 12th August, 2014
by

Attempts to reinforce the political clout of Kim Jong-il's closest comrades, who make up the current powerful core of the NKorean leadership....

Wednesday 6th August, 2014
by

"On the surface, it may look like we are all longing for Kim's visit, but really, we are waiting for the fish that he brings."...

Monday 30th June, 2014
by

Sources that provided us with details of events leading up to Jang Song-thaek's purge now offer crucial insight into the current configuration of power in North Korea....

Monday 2nd June, 2014
by

Recent measures indicate that there is increasing tension and antagonism between DPRK and China...

Sunday 27th April, 2014
by

North Korean state putting greater pressure on people to make foreign currency offerings....

Friday 7th March, 2014
by

What we North Koreans took to be an immutable fact of life no longer holds: our country is no longer ruled by a Kim....

Tuesday 4th February, 2014
by

The outside world may not perceive it; but North Koreans inside the capital know that the order has changed. A collation of our independent and recent correspondence with colleagues based in Pyongyang...

Sunday 2nd February, 2014
by

Specific details regarding Jang Song-thaek’s ‘anti-Party and anti-revolutionary’ crime announced in closed meeting for Party Secretaries in Pyongyang....

Wednesday 8th January, 2014
by

Highly unusual move by China can be seen as sending an extremely provocative message to North Korea....

Thursday 2nd January, 2014
by

No one can predict the future, and even North Korea itself cannot predict its own future; but in a New Year speech, North Korea reveals the road-map it desires to follow in the year ahead – for thos...