Politics

Articles focused on the workings of North Korea’s political system.

Monday 1st May, 2017
by

Who is Lee Jungrok, and how did he get promoted to Minister of State Security? ...

Proudly in partnership with

Wednesday 8th January, 2014
by

Highly unusual move by China can be seen as sending an extremely provocative message to North Korea....

Thursday 2nd January, 2014
by

No one can predict the future, and even North Korea itself cannot predict its own future; but in a New Year speech, North Korea reveals the road-map it desires to follow in the year ahead – for thos...

Tuesday 31st December, 2013
by

This is it: North Korea's hidden power system....

Friday 27th December, 2013
by

The actual power structure established by Kim Jong-il turned out to be stronger than the Kim family sanctity established by the same man....

Wednesday 25th December, 2013
by

An understanding of North Korean politics from within and according to its internal structure rather than its external manifestations....

Monday 23rd December, 2013
by

Public purge and execution of Jang Song-thaek at once exposes Kim Jong-un’s lack of powers, as well as the struggle of Kim Jong-il’s associates as they continue to maintain procedural control....

Friday 20th December, 2013
by

Public purge and execution of Jang Song-thaek at once exposes Kim Jong-un’s lack of powers, as well as the struggle of Kim Jong-il’s associates as they continue to maintain control....

Monday 9th December, 2013
by

Jang Song Taek was not charged with crimes against state until Dec 8....

Monday 9th December, 2013
by

Here is NFI’s understanding of the reasons for the removal of Jang Song Taek, drawing on collective first-hand experience of working inside the regime and information provided to us by long-term cor...

Thursday 31st October, 2013
by

The diplomatic agenda of the visit to North Korea by Mongolian President Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj...