Politics

Articles focused on the workings of North Korea’s political system.

Thursday 2nd March, 2017
by

In Part 1 of this analysis, it was established that neither the National Defence Commission nor the Renaissance General Bureau could have killed Kim Jong Nam. Could it have been the Operations Depart...

Proudly in partnership with

Saturday 22nd June, 2013
by

DPRK says foreign forces responsible for failure of recent inter-Korean talks...

Monday 17th June, 2013
by

Kim Jong-un gifts copies of Hitler’s Mein Kampf to senior officials...

Friday 7th June, 2013
by

DPRK targets South Korean readers who are sympathetic towards the North...

Thursday 6th June, 2013
by

The latest round of North Korea's political stratagems?...

Wednesday 5th June, 2013
by

Kim appeals for speedy completion of ski grounds Kim Jong-un appealed publicly for the Masikryong Ski Grounds to be completed within the year, although it is a project difficult for others to complete...

Saturday 1st June, 2013
by

“Rice is the ammunition for conquering the enemy” On May 30th, Rodong Sinmun published an article that likened rice to “ammunition for conquering the enemy.” Quoting Kim Jong-i...

Friday 31st May, 2013
by

North Korea calls itself “Chosun”, but does not recognize the historical Chosun In Korean, North Korea does not call itself Korea or North Korea. The official title of the DPRK in Korean is “Dem...

Tuesday 28th May, 2013
by

The May 28th issue of the DPRK state newspaper Rodong Sinmun published pictures of Kim Jong-un’s visit to the “August 25th Fisheries Institute”, which is under military auspices. The...

Friday 24th May, 2013
by

Leave no suggestions in the suggestions box! In South Korea, every public and commercial building has a customer suggestions box. They are visible in all public spaces and in taxis, too. There are eve...

Wednesday 22nd May, 2013
by

Amid North Korea’s apparent efforts at preventing defections and orchestrating re-defections, we have learned that Moon Hyeok-Chul (aged 52) is the latest defector to have gone missing under sus...