Society

Articles devoted to examining all aspects of North Korean society, particularly the daily lives of the country’s ordinary citizens.

Wednesday 8th March, 2017
by

North Korea is one of the few countries in the world where International Women’s Day is a national holiday – well, sort of....

Proudly in partnership with

Monday 2nd May, 2016
by

North Korean official accused of going to fortune teller...

Tuesday 26th January, 2016
by

What ‘well-lock’ symbolizes is significant; the ‘surveillance-communities’ are turning into ‘communities for minority’s gain’, which portrays a change in its function....

Thursday 21st January, 2016
by

"I used to avoid encountering the leaflets as much as possible. But curiosity got the better of fear; people started snatching them and read them at home. Not too long after, words quickly spread that...

Friday 15th January, 2016
by

Refugees’ testimonies show the deeper side of the grounds for their preference in red color. It is their strong will to be independent of the regime, and a hopeful expectation for the New Year....

Wednesday 13th January, 2016
by

There is a set legal limit for drunk driving, but it is not strictly enforced given the context that this ironic act of drinking before driving for survival has become the norm....

Monday 17th August, 2015
by

DOTS medication popular among North Korean residents....

Sunday 16th August, 2015
by

An explanation of various mass mobilization campaigns enforced by the government, which dominate the lives of North Koreans....

Tuesday 11th August, 2015
by

In North Korea, private ownership of gold only comes under very special circumstances....

Monday 10th August, 2015
by

“Fishermen are being increasingly targeted for surveillance, with restrictions, ideological lessons and monitoring much more severe than before.”....

Thursday 6th August, 2015
by

Just say the word: "Simply uttering the words ‘Kim’ works miracles in factories."...