Society

Articles devoted to examining all aspects of North Korean society, particularly the daily lives of the country’s ordinary citizens.

Wednesday 30th November, 2016
by

Despite UN sanctions, China has been reportedly exporting fuel by train from a Dandong military fuel supply centre to North Korea, according to a report by Radio Free Asia. ...

Proudly in partnership with

Monday 13th April, 2015
by

The trade of smuggled goods in North Korea now includes batches of leeches....

Thursday 9th April, 2015
by

Mothers consider a range of factors when contemplating and choosing the perfect daughter-in-law, including what occupation they have. In North Korea, "illegal teachers" are the number one choice....

Monday 6th April, 2015
by

In North Korea, where fuel is scarce, one wonders what laps against the walls of those tanks....

Friday 3rd April, 2015
by

North Korea, with its many mountains and high altitude, is comparatively colder than South Korea. Interestingly, however, its tree-planting activities begin one month earlier than its warmer southern ...

Thursday 2nd April, 2015
by

As seasons change in North Korea, it is commonplace to see people collecting rocks at the bottom of mountains. The arrival of spring marks the beginning of compulsory labour for North Korean citizens....

Wednesday 1st April, 2015
by

Why are defectors overwhelmed when they enter bookstores?...

Tuesday 10th March, 2015
by

Recent North Korean media is focusing on Kim Jong Un’s purported focus and interest on the concept of a ‘national food’ – in this case, dog meat....

Friday 27th February, 2015
by

How fast can you calculate 32×38?...

Thursday 15th January, 2015
by

Presentation matters, utilitarian matters....

Wednesday 14th January, 2015
by

Choice is supposed to be a good thing....