Society

Articles devoted to examining all aspects of North Korean society, particularly the daily lives of the country’s ordinary citizens.

Wednesday 8th March, 2017
by

North Korea is one of the few countries in the world where International Women’s Day is a national holiday – well, sort of....

Proudly in partnership with

Wednesday 31st December, 2014
by

If state holidays are celebrations enforced by the state, the year-end party is one initiated by people....

Thursday 25th December, 2014
by

What happens on Christmas Eve in North Korea?...

Wednesday 19th November, 2014
by

Most North Koreans don't use the word "puberty."...

Saturday 15th November, 2014
by

Kimchi season in Hyesan: When whole cabbages aren't accessible, people collect the fallen leaves of the cabbages....

Friday 14th November, 2014
by

Old Koryo artifacts are displaced from their burial grounds in North Korea and traded off to China....

Monday 3rd November, 2014
by

North Korean exiles recall winters back home....

Sunday 2nd November, 2014
by

"The salt wasn't mere superstition for us. Through experience, we had realized that belief in the regime was the really empty superstition."...

Tuesday 28th October, 2014
by

5-jang 6-gi refers to that ideal dowry package -- or just another reminder of the scarcity of goods and the dire state of the North Korean economy....

Thursday 23rd October, 2014
by

Through foreign tourism, the North Korean regime attempts to kill two birds with one stone....

Wednesday 22nd October, 2014
by

MPS surveillance police feel estranged from the ordinary populace as a result of fulfilling their duties to the totalitarian state....