Reports

News and analysis on events unfolding in North Korea.

Friday 17th February, 2017
by

North Korean ex-ambassador Thae Yongho attended an international conference hosted by the Institute for National Security Strategy (INSS) where he participated in a discussion about security in Northe...

Proudly in partnership with

Saturday 22nd August, 2015
by

What really frightens North Korea, more than even the prospect of war does....

Tuesday 12th May, 2015
by

Editorial: a "former senior official” who claimed “Kim Kyong Hui poisoned"...

Tuesday 21st April, 2015
by

The teacher’s guide to the Textbook of Revolutionary Acts of Respected Leader Kim Jong Un, a handbook to be used in ideology classes....

Sunday 12th April, 2015
by

Joint internal security operations dubbed the ‘9.8 Measures’ implemented in North Korea....

Saturday 4th April, 2015
by

New Focus correspondents were informed via telephone that specific numbers of North Korean overseas labourers in their 20s and 30s have been sent to different provinces in China....

Monday 9th February, 2015
by

North Korea's elite do not begin to believe that "Kim Yo Jong can be powerful"; it is only the outside world that speculates it....

Wednesday 7th January, 2015
by

How do you distinguish between what North Korea says and what it intends and means and desires?...

Saturday 20th December, 2014
by

A system and a people are not one and the same; a cult and a nation are not one and the same....

Tuesday 9th December, 2014
by

Those among the North Korean elite behaving in ways more "factional" than Jang Song Thaek....

Wednesday 12th November, 2014
by

The North Korean political system makes it all but impossible for Choe to suddenly be the "second most powerful man"....