NK Feature

Monday 10th April, 2017
by

How effective are South Korean attempts to penetrate North Korea's media wall by radio?...

Proudly in partnership with

Monday 19th December, 2016
by

North Korean police officers don't waste their time being polite to citizens. An insight into language and society in North Korea....

Thursday 3rd November, 2016
by

As their financial situations worsen, 40-year-old mothers must sell their bodies to return home....

Wednesday 19th October, 2016
by

With its multiple uses – food, currency, and alcohol – corn is an indispensable part of the ordinary North Korean citizen’s life. An insight into corn and the unofficial economy in ...

Friday 14th October, 2016
by

In this letter, North Korean refugee and founder of New Focus Jang Jinsung points out systematic discrimination preventing refugees from political engagement....

Monday 10th October, 2016
by

The Day of the Korean Alphabet is known in North Korea also. Refugees share their experiences....

Thursday 6th October, 2016
by

A brief insight into North Korea’s labourers, both inside the country and in foreign states....

Thursday 29th September, 2016
by

"These floods should have been an opportunity for the North Korean state to reconstruct infrastructure from scratch."...

Wednesday 28th September, 2016
by

Inside source reports that stricter inspections and wider detection of illegal phone calls are being enforced in North Korea, to prevent communication and movement among North Koreans in the aftermath...

Friday 23rd September, 2016
by

"It is my contention that the exiled North Korean community deserves more credit than it has received. For all of the good work of the United Nations and the international community, we must never for...

Wednesday 21st September, 2016
by

It is a particularly unsuccessful year for North Korean agriculture. An inside source in North Korea has reported that torrenting rains have affected the potato harvest in Unheung and Daehongdan in Ry...